初中9年级证书

课程提要

国际中学教育普通证书(IGCSE)是由英国的剑桥大学国际考试委员会(CIE)所设计的文凭证书。剑桥大学国际考试委员会作为 Cambridge Assessment 下属的一个非盈利部门,是提供面向全球 5 到 19 岁青少年国际教育课程和资格证书的最大机构。剑桥大学国际考试委员会一贯投资于研发并致力于提高其课程和资格证书的质量。

剑桥大学国际考试委员会(CIE)拥有英格兰资格与考试管理局(Ofqual)的认证。英格兰资格与考试管理局负责英格兰地区的资格认证、考试和评估,以及北爱尔兰地区的职业资格认证。剑桥大学国际考试委员会与英格兰资格与考试管理局的密切合作确保了其考试评估和资格认证能够始终达到相应标准,并保持被广泛认可。

辅仁国际学校开设剑桥国际IGCSE考试预备课程,完成此课程的学生将了解和掌握相关的知识和技能,为参加剑桥IGCSE考试做好准备。在剑桥IGCSE考试中考取至少一科及格的学生,将会获得由剑桥大学国际考试委员会颁发的国际通用证书。成绩良好并符合入学条件的学生可申请新加坡政府理工学院或海外初级学院、大学预科等。

主修科目

英文 – 必修科目

本科目旨让学生能够使用英语进行有效沟通。该模块结束后,学生能够在听、说、读、写等方面达到一般的生活会话要求,也能够用国际通用英文进行学术相关的口语交流、写作和报告等。

数学

本科目旨在为学生提供基础数学知识与技能。帮助学生掌握这些技能在实际生活中的运用能力。学生能够运用在该科目模块里所学到的数学思辨能力、逻辑推理判断能力等来解决生活中不同领域的问题。

科学(生物)

生物学科旨在发展学生对生物现象,事实,法则,定义,概念,理论和科学仪器的理解。它还介绍了用于生物学的仪器,包括操作技术和安全方面。完成学习后,学生将被要求使用信息来识别模式,报告趋势,得出推断并报告结论。他们还需要对现象,模式和关系提出合理的解释。

科学(物理)

物理学科旨在提供实验和实践物理学,从而使学生获得足够的理解和知识。它将彻底介绍物理学及其科学方法的研究,并发展与科学安全实践和日常生活相关的学生的技能和能力,例如灌输准确性,准确性,客观性和完整性的价值。

科学 (化学)

化学学科是一个基于技能的模块,除存储大量事实材料外,还侧重于对科学概念和原理的理解和应用。实验工作是化学的重要组成部分,是化学教学的基础。它的目的是为学生提供更广泛的实用化学基础,特别是提高他们对世界资源有限生命的认识,从而提高对回收和保存的需求。

选修科目

中文

中文学科旨在从听,说,读,写四个方面发展学生的中文技能。完成本单元后,学生应该能够自信地说中文,进行中文对话并理解中文文章。它也使学生更好地欣赏中国文学作品。

教学范围

所有课程均按照初中9年级证书课程大纲进行。

课程学制

该课程为12个月全日制课程。 每天6小时,每周5天,总计每周30小时。

入学资格

年龄要求

学生在课程开始当年1月1日需要年满13周岁。

文凭要求

完成中学二年级(并且英文成绩合格) 考试或同等学历。

开课日期

该课程每年有两个开课日期:1 月和 7 月。若该日为周六或周日,则该开课日期顺延至该日期后的第一个周一。
辅仁国际学校规定每班最低开班人数为 15 人,若学生人数少于 15 人,辅仁国际学校有权利取消该开班。此种情况下,学生可参加之后开课的课程(如有),或者申请退课(有关退课产生的退费政策和程序,请参考退费政策)。

延迟入学

辅仁国际学校依据个别情况考虑接受课程开始之后的延迟入学的插班生。

授课方式

授课、辅导、讨论和实验

收费标准

全日制 12个月
课程费 S$33,300/学年
学费保险 以上费用的 1.35%
政府消费税 以上总额的 8%
设备使用费及押金(扣除实际使用后可退还) S$500
总学费 S$36,949.51

以上收费标准适用于2023学年开课的课程。

单击此处查看杂项费用表。

评估方法

校内考试

学校通常在每个课程单元的第11个星期进行单元考试,每个学期的第22个星期进行校内升级考试。考试范围会涵盖(但不限于)该单元内所学的知识点。

所有学生都必须参加课程结束前的结业考试,并作为他们的毕业条件的一部分

校内考试方式

笔试和作业

校外考试

学生将在课程进行中或结束后参加剑桥考试委员会举办的剑桥初中检查考试。 更多信息请参考 https://www.cambridgeinternational.org/programmes-and-qualifications/cambridge-lower-secondary/assessment/cambridge-checkpoint/

评级系统
等级 百分比统一分数*
A* ≥ 90%
A 89% – 80%
B 79% – 70%
C 69% – 60%
D 59% – 50%
E 49% – 40%
U ≤ 39%

*百分比统一分数(PUM)是一个数字分数,将考生的考试成绩转移到一个共同的比例,显示他们在该等级内的表现。

Middle School Certificate – Grade 9

Course Structure

International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is a course designed by Cambridge Assessment International Education, UK. Cambridge Assessment International Education is the world’s largest provider of international education programmes and qualifications for 5 to 19-year-olds. They are a division of Cambridge Assessment, which is a department of the University of Cambridge, UK.

Cambridge Assessment International Education is recognised by the Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation (Ofqual). Ofqual is the regulator of examinations in England for the award of qualifications. CIE assessments and qualifications are closely monitored to ensure that it meets the appropriate standards by Ofqual. Cambridge International works closely with Ofqual to maintain their recognised status.

Furen International School offers the Middle School Certificate – Grade 9 for IGCSE for students age 15 and above. Upon completion, students will have developed the knowledge of the chosen subjects and the skills to prepare for the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) examination. Students who pass at least 1 subject in the examination will be granted an IGCSE certification from Cambridge International Examinations. Students with good grades can look forward to pursuing post-secondary education in Singapore or overseas.

Core Modules

English Language

This module aims to enable students to communicate effectively in English. At the end of the course, students are expected to be able to listen, read, write and speak to meet general living needs. They are also expected to speak, write and make presentations in internationally acceptable English for academic purpose.

Mathematics

This module aims to enable students to acquire the necessary mathematical concepts and skills for everyday life, for continuous learning in Mathematics and related disciplines, and to develop the necessary process skills for the acquisition and application of mathematical concepts and skills. It is also intended to develop students’ logical thinking and problem solving skills and apply these skills to solve problems in different areas.

Combined Science (Biology)

This module aims to develop students’ understanding in relation to biological phenomena, facts, laws, definitions, concepts, theories and scientific instruments. It also introduces apparatus used in biology, including techniques of operation and aspects of safety. Upon the completion of studies, students are expected to use information to identify patterns, report trends, draw inferences and report conclusions. They will also be required to present reasoned explanations for phenomena, patterns and relationships.

Combine Science (Physics)

This module aims to provide experimental and practical Physics, thereby enabling students to acquire sufficient understanding and knowledge. It will give a thorough introduction to the study of Physics and their scientific methods, and develop students’ skills and abilities that are relevant to the safe practice of science and to everyday life such as instilling values for accuracy and precision, objectivity and integrity.

Combined Science (Chemistry)

The Chemistry module is a skill-based module that focuses on understanding and application of scientific concepts and principles, over and above a memorization of large quantities of factual materials. Experimental work is an important component and is the foundation of teaching and learning of Chemistry. It aims to prepare students with a broader base of practical chemistry and in particular to develop their appreciation of the finite life of the world’s resources, and hence the need for recycling and conservation.

Elective Modules

Chinese

This module aims to develop students’ Chinese language skills in four aspects, listening, speaking, reading and writing. Upon completion the module, students should be able to speak Chinese with confidence, conduct Chinese conversation and understand Chinese essays. It also enables students to better appreciate Chinese literature works.

Humanities

This module will cover a wide variety of topics in humanities such as Geography and History. It serves the purpose for our students to know the world they are living in, the values of different culture and how history is made. After gaining the knowledge, students would better appreciate the world and understand diversity through the similarities and differences.

Scope of Study

All lessons will be conducted following the Middle School Certificate – Grade 9 syllabus.

Duration

This is a 12-month full-time course with all lessons held on campus. There are 6 contact hours per school day, 5 days per week for a total of 30 contact hours per week.

Entry Requirements

Age

At least 13 years of age as at 1st January on the year of course commencement.

Academic Requirement

Completed at least Secondary 2 education and obtained a pass in an English subject at Secondary 2 level or equivalent in country of origin.

Course Commencement Date

There are two intakes for this course. This course commences on January and July of each year. If either of those dates fall on a Saturday or Sunday, the course shall commence on the first Monday after that date.

Furen International School reserves the right to cancel a class/or programme if the minimum number of students enrolled is less than 15. Students may then choose to enrol for a later intake, if any, or withdraw from the course. For refund, please refer to our Refund Policy.

Late Enrolment

Furen International School is able to consider late enrolment after commencement of course on a case-by-case basis.

Course Delivery Mode

Face-to-face lectures, tutorials, discussions, laboratory sessions

Course Fees

Full-Time (months) 12
Course Fee S$25,142
FPS Insurance Protection Fee 1.35% of the above total
GST 7% of the above total
Total Course Fee (approximately)  S$27,265.12

Above table shows you the new course fees with effect from 1 Jan 2021.

Click Here to see the Miscellaneous Fees Table.

Assessment Methods

Internal Assessment

A Unit Assessment will be conducted, usually on the 11th week from the start of the unit. A Promotion Examination will be conducted, usually on the 22th week from the start of the semester. The content of the test shall cover (but not limited to) all the content delivered in that unit/semester.

One major internal exam (Final Examination) will be conducted before the end of the course delivery.

Internal Assessment Mode

Written Exams/Assignments

External Assessment

Students can take Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint as an option.

For more details on the Cambridge Lower Secondary Checkpoint, please refer to the Cambridge website: https://www.cambridgeinternational.org/programmes-and-qualifications/cambridge-lower-secondary/assessment/cambridge-checkpoint/

Grading System
Grade Percentage Uniform Mark (PUM)*
A* ≥ 90%
A 89% – 80%
B 79% – 70%
C 69% – 60%
D 59% – 50%
E 49% – 40%
U ≤ 39%

* The Percentage Uniform Mark (PUM) is a numerical mark which transfers a candidate’s results to a common scale which reports how well they performed within that grade.